Happy 30th Anniversary, Desire! + Remix

30 years ago, Akina dropped what would become one of her biggest hits and signature tunes that will forever seal her in the halls of fame in J-Pop history.

Would you say this is THE SONG of her career? She left her peers trailing far behind in galactic proportions. And it’s not just about the tune itself, is it? The eclectic, most original image of kimono-wig-clash-couture, the dance steps, and then there is that Kouhaku performance. It’s still the best performance of the entire Kouhaku history bar none in my opinion. I remember playing and replaying that performance over and over again until I wore out the VHS tape. My mother and grandmother could even sing along with me because they had heard it so many times. It was literally the anthem of my life then. I’m glad it didn’t drive my family nuts. LOL.

And in school, my classmates and I would take every opportunity to mimic Akina’s dance steps. We would do it at the bus stop, at the school canteen when queuing up for our food… at the morning assembly… in the toilets even! HAHA.

 

Happy 30th, DESIRE!! And thank you Akina for creating magic on 3 Feb 1986.

Image credit: Gengoro-Akemori
dannybunny

Akina fanboy since 14. Still undecided which are his top ten favourite Akina tracks as it's mission impossible. Digs "Everlasting Love" a whole lot more than the average Akina fan.

One thought on “Happy 30th Anniversary, Desire! + Remix

Leave a comment